Skip to main content

new Equatorial African States - 500 Francs - ND 1963 Foreign Paper Money

Inv# FM3375   Foreign Paper Money
New Item!
Country: Equatorial African States
Years: 1963 ND
Color: Multicolored

500 Francs. "Gabon" "D". Front and back shown. French Equatorial Africa (French: Afrique équatoriale française, or AEF) was a federation of French colonial territories in Equatorial Africa which consisted of Gabon, French Congo, Ubangi-Shari, and Chad. It existed from 1910 to 1958 and its administration was based in Brazzaville.

Established in 1910, the Federation contained four colonial possessions: French Gabon, French Congo, Ubangi-Shari and French Chad. The Governor-General was based in Brazzaville with deputies in each territory.

In 1911, France ceded parts of the territory to German Kamerun as a result of the Agadir Crisis. The territory was returned after Germany's defeat in World War I, while most of Cameroon proper became a French League of Nations mandate not integrated into the AEF. Read more at

Condition: A.U.
Item ordered may not be exact piece shown. All original and authentic.
Price: $359.00